A gift

Deep down in my secret self I wanted my books, or someone else at least, to sell

13709815_1244462565565325_184678520795631397_n

One of the “classrooms” at Arte Umbria

themselves. Like Jack Nicholson in As Good As It Gets, I love to sink, undisturbed, into the depths of my work in progress. I do not like to talk about or sell myself or my books.

 

My first book, A Life Less Lost, came out in paperback. I was just beginning to give successful talks without having to lie in a darkened room for hours afterwards, when my second book, Once Removed, came out as an ebook. Being slow to grasp a whole new set of promotional skills, impacted on sales and self-confidence. Several false starts on the next book left me paralysed by doubt in my ability to write. And why would I want to, if it meant I had to face the marketing challenges that came with completion?

IMG_1017-2

Mealtimes on the terrace

I tried to fill the void with other things but the ache wouldn’t stop howling. Then as a very special birthday present (for one of those with a zero in it) I was given the chance of a writing holiday in Italy! WOW, I know, I couldn’t believe it.

Arte Umbria, about half an hour from Perugia, up in the hills provided an exquisite venue, Sue Moorcroft provided the tuition and the other members of the course gave endless encouragement and fun. The result? I’m writing again! Full of energy, ideas and enthusiasm. Watch this space…

13737450_1244448212233427_5464283680765363886_o

Thank you everyone!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carolwarham
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 14:08:48

    That looks a fabulous writing retreat. How wonderful. So pleased to hear you are writing again.

    Reply

  2. suemoorcroft
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 14:10:20

    Go you, Kimm! The opening to your new book had us all engrossed. x

    Reply

  3. kaypickard
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 17:48:08

    So glad you are back in the saddle. You are an inspired writer, I thought the quality of your words gripping and I really hope you finish the story you started in Arte Umbria. After showing off last week, I’ve had a bad week this week. I seem to have lost part of the plot and have only managed 100 words this week 😔☹️

    Reply

    • kimmwalker
      Aug 26, 2016 @ 11:32:40

      Don’t be too hard on yourself, Kay, I did the same. The more we enjoy it and the less it feels like a duty the more chance we have of keeping at it, I find. You’ve proved how much can be done and are an inspiration to me.

      Reply

      • kaypickard
        Aug 26, 2016 @ 15:43:08

        Thanks Kimm, that means alto to me. Perhaps we can spur each other on. Sue Sharp (from Tuscany) and I have become writing buddies, so hopefully I will still be able to keep going when I go back to college, because it’s going to be tough x

      • kimmwalker
        Aug 27, 2016 @ 13:24:45

        That’s a good idea and I’m sure you can do it! xox

  4. Laura P
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 18:34:52

    Fabulous idea, Kimm! Hope it proves fruitful and always keep writing xx

    Reply

  5. kimmwalker
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 11:28:41

    Thank you Carol. It is a fabulous place. I could have written a lot more about it but find people haven’t time for long posts.

    Reply

  6. nessafrance
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 12:43:35

    Looks wonderful and was clearly useful and stimulating. Hope you keep writing!

    Reply

Leave a comment

The Bingergread Cottage

Where anything can happen and does

Jane Bwye

Author, traveller, business mentor

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

Sangeeta Kathuria

My World of Writing.

Muse with Coffee - An author's blog

Musing and writing over a cup of coffee, books, snippets of life - anything which gives an insight, letting the expressions flow..

Heather E. Wright

Resources for Writers of All Ages and Teachers, Too.

Empowering Your creativity

by novelist/artist/coach caroline allen

Nuts and Crisps

For all things reading and writing