‘I’ll never buy a Kindle’

Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...

Cover via Amazon

And I kept saying it for quite a while. I had all the usual complaints.

‘I like to feel a book in my hands, not a piece of plastic.’

‘What about the bookshops and libraries?’

‘It’ll never catch on.’

As a self-publisher with my own publishing company, I realised that it was getting harder and harder to self-publish as the printing costs were increasing and I couldn’t keep up with big firm’s special ‘2 for 1’ offers and low budget books. Something had to give.

‘Make your books as ebooks’, a friend suggested. I looked at her as if she’d suggested a trip to the moon. Eventually I was worn down, after having decided that I’d published my last book. (Weaving Through the Years, 2012).41pgIKxVNML._AA160_

‘You’ll need a Kindle so that you can check them as the text sometimes get corrupted when files are converted to PDF format,’ another friend said.

So I bought one. And the sky didn’t fall down, Chicken Licken.

‘Why don’t you upload all your books to Amazon?’ my nephew Richard suggested. (He’s the technical part of my publishing company; the ‘Ric’ of Linric).

‘How do I do that?’ I asked nervously.

51IS+kK8zUL._AA160_‘I’ll do it,’ he offered. Phew! What a relief. And half an hour later, that’s what he’d done. All eight of them! And no need to change the format either – they all went in Word format.

It was very nice to see them on Amazon, available as downloads, but really, I thought, not much point, as no one will buy them, even though I had some good reviews.

I was wrong. The first and second month I only sold one download each month. So then I forgot about it. I didn’t know how to access my sales reports anyway at that time. But next time the nephew looked for me, I’d sold 16 downloads each month in the third and fourth book. And two of the sales were from America.

No books to be printed and stored in my house.

Pure profit!

Well, apart from Amazon’s cut of course. And I’ve just had notification that Amazon is making first payment this week. Momentous!41a9WbhVKNL._AA160_

So if you are in the same boat as I was, my suggestion is to just go for it! Or have a techy-savvy nephew handy if you can’t do it yourself. You never know ‘til you try?

And my Kindle? Well, it’s a bit dusty. I still don’t like it and prefer a book, except of course, when I go on holiday. Then it gets dusted off and is an important part of my luggage. The only problem I have now is that I want to download my own books on to my Kindle. But it’s ‘not possible at the present time’ according to Kindle Direct Publishing, without paying for them. Pay for my own books? Humph!

www.linric.publishing.com 

If you search for Linda Sawley on Amazon you’ll find paper & ‘e’ versions of all her books.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay @ Short Story Ideas
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 15:06:04

    Wow! Congratulations on your sales and your first pay cheque! I must admit, I prefer a physical book too but so many people seem to be publishing eBooks now that it’s probably going to be hard to avoid getting one.

    Reply

  2. sustainabilitea
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 15:41:37

    I have to admit I was skeptical about a Kindle when my husband gave me one as a gift a few years ago but it has its wonderful place as do the boxes and boxes of books I keep until I have enough shelves for all of them. I love holding a real book but I love carrying close to 1000 of them with me in my purse. I like being able to collect favorite authors (although many of those I like aren’t out on Kindle)…and do so both in book and on Kindle. For travel, especially to a non-English speaking country, the Kindle is worth…well, the weight of my books in gold! 🙂

    Congratulations on your books!

    janet

    Reply

  3. Barbara Foote
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 09:00:03

    I have read all of Linda’s books and thoroughly enjoyed them all and unlike Linda I have paper and kindle copies so I can read and re read them in both formats.

    Try them out yourself and I am positive you will be searching for more!!

    Reply

  4. jbwye
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 10:39:06

    My thoughts also, Kim! But it’s amazing how one’s resolve can erode in time…

    Reply

  5. kimmwalker
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 15:21:54

    Thank you for visiting and taking the time to comment Kay, Janet, Barbara and Jane. Janet’s comment about being able to carry 1000 books in her purse really made me smile. I’ve never thought about it like that before! I like my kindle because I can read while I’m walking the dog and wearing mittens (difficult turning paper pages with gloves on), it never slams shut when I’m reading over my cereal bowl and I can stand it up in it’s cover in bed and keep my hands warm under the duvet. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Bingergread Cottage

An excellent writer -Amazon.com

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

Sangi's Haart n Soul

a reflection of my thoughts....

Muse with Coffee - A Book Blog

Musing and writing over a cup of coffee, books, snippets of life - anything which gives an insight, letting the expressions flow..

Heather E. Wright

Resources for Writers of All Ages and Teachers, Too.

Nuts and Crisps

For all things reading and writing

