Collaborative writing

Sarah, Martin and Warren are all members of my writers‘ group (see post 9). Sarah explains how she got involved in this exciting collaboration.

Souls of Darkness Anthology

The idea for the book was presented to me one evening at writers group (HWG) by two of the other writers, Martin (Damon Rathe) and Warren (Kenneth Frank) although for the book we all used pen names, mine being Louise Hunt.  They had already been talking about putting together a compilation of short horror stories and something about the way I turned Santa into a mass murderer that night in group appealed to them…  They asked if I’d be interested in contributing to the work and I said yes.  I think it works well as we all have very different styles so there’s something to appeal to everyone.  We each edited the others stories to get a fresh perspective and the guys did an amazing job on the illustrations, just as well since I can’t draw at all.

The anthology has been an amazing learning experience for me in that it forced me to write to a deadline, (although I also finished my first year at Uni the same week that the book was launched), as well as giving me the opportunity to really get to grips with the editing process.  I discovered quite a few bad habits such as word repetition, and what Martin referred to as Yorkshire-ism’s where good grammar gives way to speech patterns.

Until I moved to Holmfirth I had only ever shared the fact that I wrote with a few close friends.  I think the most surprising thing to me is the amount of positive feedback I’ve had.  I have received messages from complete strangers as well as the friends who hadn’t known about my writing before, telling me how much they enjoyed it and how good they thought the book was.  It’s been a great learning experience and has really boosted my confidence in myself and in my work and I’m incredibly thankful to have been asked, and that I said yes.

One of Martin Rothery’s illustrations.

Blurb:

This illustrated book shows exactly what can happen when you take three very different horror, fantasy and sci-fi writers, dismember their work, and then fiendishly stitch it back together in the form of an anthology of their compiled short stories.  A contorted mix of sinister sci-fi, ghostly goings on and true-life terror, carefully combined within the cover of this book.

Leave a Reply

The Bingergread Cottage

An excellent writer -Amazon.com

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

Sangi's Haart n Soul

a reflection of my thoughts....

Muse with Coffee - A Book Blog

Musing and writing over a cup of coffee, books, snippets of life - anything which gives an insight, letting the expressions flow..

Heather E. Wright

Resources for Writers of All Ages and Teachers, Too.

Nuts and Crisps

For all things reading and writing

